Go to next topic
Last Post 18 Jul 2013 07:21 PM by  sjfehr
Cone damage to my Mazdaspeed 3
 13 Replies
Author Messages
aaronmj

--
04 May 2013 08:01 PM

I'm an autocross novice, but I've been enjoying the hell out of it and entering as many events in as I can sign up for.  Being a novice, I occasionally get over-zealous with the throttle and push into some cones.  This is starting to hurt the car.  I've broken three out of four attachment points for the plastic aero panels on the underside of the car ahead of the front wheels.  Everything else seems pretty solid, but the way these panels are attached just seems flimsy.  Unfortunately, it's not the aero panel that breaks, (which would probably be cheap and easy to replace) but the attachment point on the front fascia.  Does anyone know of a way to fix or mitigate this damage on this car?  Other than not hitting cones. 

sgreer78
    Advanced Member
    Advanced Member

--
    04 May 2013 08:36 PM

Don't use staples. I don't think they hold well. Oh, and don't hit cones.

aaronmj

--
    04 May 2013 10:06 PM
    You jest, but the wind deflector was stapled on at the factory... was. How the hell am I supposed to staple this thing back on?
    Dick Rasmussen
    Advanced Member
    Advanced Member

--
    05 May 2013 12:48 PM

Do the part configurations permit using something like 10/32 bolts, large backup washers (or similar), and elastic insert locking nuts? You might even use plastic bolts.

Make sure that the "easily replaceable" part is more likely to break than the other part. 

I did this on a 97 Mustang with under bumper "air deflectors" that originally were secured with LARGE OD "pop rivets" that needed an expensive tool to install. 

You might even consider "ty-wraps" depending on the part configurations. Black is best for UV resistance. The tywraps will be stronger than the plastic parts they are securing but depending on the configurations may allow some "hinge" movement when you hit a cone.

Dick

btwyx

--