49 Replies
Author Messages
christoc
I'm an Admin
Veteran Member
Veteran Member

--
15 Aug 2016 10:00 PM

Anyone have any thoughts on classing for the 2017 1LE Camaro?

How about availability date? Pricing was announced last week, but my dealer doesn't know anything at this time.

drdisque
    Basic Member
    Basic Member

--
    16 Aug 2016 03:00 PM

I'm guessing AS (to go with the prior generation Z28 and ZL1) or BS (to go with the mechanically similar ATS-V). Considering it's probably lighter and stiffer than the ATS-V, I'm inclined to go with AS.

rpalmblad

--
    30 Aug 2016 04:20 PM
    Historically, every other factory 1LE has gone to F (Stock back in the day, and Street now). The 2017 1LE package seems a lot like the previous 5th gen, which was in F. The current SS is in F. The 1LE is essentially an SS with a track pack (albeit a superior one to Ford's).This should be an F car, no question in my mind. Will it be the car to have? Probably, but the bar gets raised all the time in street class. I think it's a much better alternative than having to shell out $35,000+ for a used E92 M3 (with known rod bearing issues) to be competetive.
    ZL1 and Z28 are poor comparisons since they both had big power increases and even bigger price increases. It shares a platform with, but is otherwise not similar to the $60,000+ ATS-V (twin turbo 6, shorter and narrower). Just my .02
    Z3papa
    Advanced Member
    Advanced Member

--
    01 Sep 2016 04:45 PM
    Posted By Robert on 30 Aug 2016 04:20 PM