How can I afford Club or Fomula racing?
 3 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
cmoreweb

--
11 Mar 2001 08:05 PM
    I'm 23 and I make good money but not enough that I can afford to get where I want in racing. I've been to driving schools at Mid-ohio and recently I took Skip Barber's 3 day racing school. I want to get into a Formula Ford or Formula Mazda. I have the talent but I don't know how I can afford to do the arrive-and-drive programs. I see a lot of people that start out with help from their parents but that's not possible for me and I need to get my racing career moving.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can get into road racing on a limited budget? I'm not sure if I can find any sponsors seeing that I'm just starting out.

Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Chris
    chris@chrismore.com
    NoSlow

--
    12 Mar 2001 04:56 AM
    Chris,

Look into Formula Vee. I know what you're thinking... "It's too slow... it's old technology." But, you won't find better competition in ANY of the other formula classes, the entry numbers are usually larger than the other classes and if you can drive a Vee fast... you can drive anything fast. Besides, a front running Vee is a LOT cheaper than a front running Ford.

------------------
    Darren, #32FV
    Delta Region, SCCA
    [url="http://www.VeeRacing.com"]www.VeeRacing.com[/URL]
    SCCAForums Image
    vee5

--
    12 Mar 2001 03:00 PM
    Please try formula vee, I picked a good regional car with a traier for $3500. The vee is simple to work on, all stock vw parts except the engine(leave the engine work to the pros, plus it is not like you can go to a parts store and find a spindle for a reynard) and there is plenty of drivers to race against. Check out [url="http://www.sracing.com."]www.sracing.com.[/URL]
    ILenhart

--
    13 Mar 2001 09:18 PM
    Chris: