Tire choices for street tire class
 7 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
CDS

--
20 Apr 2006 10:13 AM
    I've been using Azenis (195/60-14) on my Miata for several years. Are these still the preferred street tire? (I don't want to go to r-compounds, I'm doing good to keep those on the CRX racecar [:)]). Has anybody tried the new Hankooks? Any other recommendations?
    wffurr

--
    20 Apr 2006 12:31 PM
    I've heard good things about the Yokohama EVS100s and Kumho MXs. I got tired of the road noise from the Azenis and switched to Kumho Ecsta SPTs. They're a nice compromise for sticking fairly well and not driving me insane on the highway.
    Kim Humphries

--
    20 Apr 2006 01:40 PM

Hankook Ventus Z212

Falken Azenis 615

Kumho Ecsta MX

Yokohama Advan - pricey and only if you want a skinny 16" OR 17" + tire

In no particular order.

P.S. The SEARCH button will get you more info than you will ever want to read on this.

CDS

--
    20 Apr 2006 02:33 PM

Thanks Kim.

kameleon

--
    20 Apr 2006 07:01 PM
    I wish there was another option like the old 215 azenis'. I mean for $200 you can get a complete set of street/race tires. Awesome for the "budget" racer. I have a fresh set on my 85 mr2 and 2 spares. I want to make them last as long as possible. :)

I don't like the lack of a sidewall belt and tread belt on the 615's. Plus at $75 a tire...... more cost for less tire? C'mon.

My 2 cents.

Kim Humphries

--
    20 Apr 2006 08:45 PM

Even the hoarded 215s are almost gone. Oil prices are up so tire prices are up. Bigger tires/wheels continue to gain in popularity and OEM spec. The days of bargain ST tires may be behind us - I'm shaving mine and treating them like race tires.

I'm still able to get a nice Falken 205/5015 street tire for my car for $52 ea.(DDD) so I don't feel too bad about annual carnage on those for keeping my SOLO alignment setup year round.