Page 1 of 212 > >>
Author Messages
toy4speed
Basic Member
Basic Member

--
16 Feb 2007 03:42 PM

Hello Everyone,

I'm considering upgrading to an enclosed car trailer. The open trailer has been good, just decided its time to upgrade to the security/convenience of an enclosed unit.

My question is how hard is it to mount an electric winch on the floor of an enclosed trailer? I don't have an enclosed trailer yet, so don't have a floor or frame to go check out. I know that ordering a new trailer it is an option to have a winch mount installed, but what if I buy a used trailer, then I would need to mount a winch myself.

Just run bolts through flooring, hit framing, maybe some backing plate? Mount a battery box in the trailer, connect to the winch? Do I need some kind of circuit breaker?

Thanks, I'm a noob at winch mounting!

Don

Stan Whitney

--
    16 Feb 2007 05:56 PM

You can have a winch plate welded to the frame rails under the spot you will use. It won't need to be anything massive, usually 1/8" or less thickness, study the plates used under your tie down points for an example. Then just drill through the floor and the plate and mount (usually just 2 bolts). A long remote cord is a big help. A wireless remote is wonderful.

A battery box (inside or out) with power run to the winch is what I use. A breaker/fusible link is not a bad idea, but remember the winch could pull some large amps. I also have the battery tied into the 12v circuit powering the trailer lights and coming from the tow vehicle, so it gets some charging while towing.

toy4speed
    Basic Member
    Basic Member

--
    17 Feb 2007 02:39 AM

Thanks, that's good info. Very helpful. Wiring into the 12V system of the trailer is an interesting idea. Only gets 12V from the trailer leads so charging must be pretty minimal. As long as the trailer battery doesn't get too drained from using trailer light while parked, this seems like a a good idea.

Jim G
    Advanced Member
    Advanced Member

--