Looking for feedback on new Trans-Am Series
 8 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
mowog

--
13 Dec 2008 01:23 PM

Sorry for the troll/spam posting but I wrote an opinion column on the new Trans-Am Series.

I feel that while it is good to see TA back I think that they missed the mark by limiting the series to GT1 only.

See the link below.

http://theracesite.com/index.cfm?te...g_id=16264

I will look for feedback here or via e-mail at

jimbourn (at) theracesite.com

Thanks in advance

TeamWheels

--
    17 Dec 2008 10:29 AM
    Very well written article. I certainly agree with your points. I think GT-1 is the headline race that gets people excited and I think adding just one or two additional classes fills out the field and makes the racing more exciting. As a GT3 Cup driver I would love to have that opportunity.
    Mrsideways
    Veteran Member
    Veteran Member

--
    17 Dec 2008 11:28 AM

Some Opinions available in the other thread about T/A.....

http://sccaforums.com/forums/1/3370...spx#337062

Shortcutsleeping

--
    17 Dec 2008 05:54 PM

I liked the article also, but don't want to see it go overboard adding classes. I think the Grand-Am Rolex series has spoiled me a bit and I think that two classes make it nice and easy to follow. I feel ALMS has too many classes. I can see adding in GT2 cars (which brings in the gt3 cup cars), but the differential to T1 (radial slicks vs DOT Rs) is a good sized step.

Two classes and keep it simple.

mowog

--
    18 Dec 2008 01:20 PM

I agree that having too many classes would be an issue. One of my points was that it would be reasonably easy, even on the same weekend, for a GT3 car to be made reasonably competitive with a GT2 by taking out balast and such. To be honest I am not familiar enough with the rules packages of the GT 2 and 3 classes to give specific examples but using Black as a guide it sure seems possible to compete in both.