3 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
lrn2ejucate

--
27 Dec 2008 03:23 AM

Hi All –

Just wanted to shout out to everyone. I have been reading the forum for quite some time and find this a really fantastic source.

I am new to Spec Miatas, but not new to racing. Grew up on the vintage circuit in Northern California, and am pleased to call Sears Point and Laguna homes away from homes… Though the padocks were not quite as nice back in the day…

In any case, I am spending the year finishing the restoration of a 61 bugeye, and sourcing and preparing to enter the 2010 SM SCCA season. Part of my to-do’s is to take another Skip Barber course, take the SCCA school, oh and source a car. My objective initially (unless convinced otherwise) is to find a nicely prepared car which is safe and reliable and hopefully competitive, however recognizing that it is likely driver (software) over hardware (car) that has the most influence on being competitive.

Having said all that, hoping you veterans out there can shed some light on what I should be looking for in a car.

What years should I be looking at?

Hard Top, I assume over soft?

Gotchyas?

Particular Roll Cage or Roll Cage features?

Suspension?

Wheels ?

Engine?

Transmission and Differential?

Exhaust?

Crazy question, but anything I need to look out for as far as identifying a cheater car?

Basically, what should a driver with lots of seat time in various cars and karts be looking for when shopping for his next ride? I have heard great things about the class, from friends in the class, I have been to several events up at Thunder Hill, and am ready to take the plunge. Any help in pointing me in the right direction is much appreciated.

Looking forward to seeing you all on the track!

Oh – If anyone knows of a good home for these, let me know

http://sccaforums.com/forums/thread/338259.aspx

A

DaveV

--
    02 Jan 2009 01:50 PM

Hi,