Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Page 2 of 3 << < 123 > >>
Author Messages
OneEyeMedia

--
12 Apr 2009 09:29 PM
dtruck260 wrote:

I am new to this whole thing, this will be the first event I plan on attending. (New scca member and all)

If there is anything I can do, cleanup, prep or otherwise please let me know, I would be happy to help!

Hey good luck to ya, newbie :P

Only advice I can give you first timer, look ahead...always look ahead!

Cheers

bmonnin1
Basic Member
Basic Member

--
12 Apr 2009 11:01 PM
dtruck260 wrote:

I am new to this whole thing, this will be the first event I plan on attending. (New scca member and all)

If there is anything I can do, cleanup, prep or otherwise please let me know, I would be happy to help!

First of all nice Camaro. When you race it be very careful with the accelerator pedal. The combination of a big engine and a solid axle on the rear end means it is very easy to drift the rear end on corner exit. While it is fun to drive and watch it is also slow.

Second there is a saying in autocross racing - "If you want to race, you have to work." We will run at least two heats, maybe three or if we get enough people four heats. You will get to race one of those heats and you will have to work one of the other heats, most likely on a corner station chasing knocked down cones. Best place for a new person to work as you can watch how other drivers drive the course. That being said if you would like to help out additionally we will probably need help setting up the course the day before and/or some help tearing down the course and equipment after the event. It always seems that there are only a couple three people doing that and it really helps if more would help out.