Trying to make a come back!
 10 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
jakeaka20CiviC02Si

--
12 Jan 2011 04:32 PM

Well the title is self explanatory. I want to get back involved with the Milwaukee Region within the next year or so. However i have found myself facing the same question over and over. What car should i purchase? My past car was a white 2002 Civic Si and i ran STX and later SM. Recently i purchased an automatic 2011 Mini Cooper base for daily driving. I like the car, however due to it's automatic transmission i won't be able to track it. I have a few cars picked out in my mind, just want some advice from my fellow racers.

Here are the cars that i have been contemplating for the 2012 season:
    -2011 Cooper or Cooper S

-Honda S2000

-BMW 135

Please let me hear your opinions! Thanks!

Mark Hirt
    Veteran Member
    Veteran Member

--
    12 Jan 2011 06:57 PM
    Not the BMW
    2superblus
    Advanced Member
    Advanced Member

--
    13 Jan 2011 11:29 AM
    Honda S2K run it in B-stock or STR.
    mrazny
    Basic Member
    Basic Member

--
    13 Jan 2011 11:57 AM

Just with the base price differences of the cars, i have to assume you're looking at a used 135i.

Firstly, the 1 is very easily modified, so you're claimed "never tracked" used 135 still might have been running a chip, and the HPFP issues are pretty well-documented. Also, on the street it feels great, but at the limit its weight and body roll REALLY show. All that said though, i thought it was really easy to adapt to driving it. Bob Clark has a strong opinion that the car is not classed appropriately in D Stock, and since it's a heavy high-powered car, logic would think that with Street Tires it would be a bit more out-classed.