Towing with a Cayenne Turbo
 7 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
klie5111

--
22 May 2011 07:07 PM

Anyone currently towing their race cars with a Cayenne turbo? Pros/Cons?

Looking to pull a 3200lb car with a (hopefully) very light trailer (1k or so). Some mountain passes.

BigEnos
    Advanced Member
    Advanced Member

--
    23 May 2011 03:43 PM
    I have no experience, but I would think the obstacle would be the wheel/tire package and its ability to handle the extra load. Power certainly won't be an issue! What is the manufacturer rating?
    klie5111

--
    23 May 2011 03:55 PM
    I think it's at 7,700 lbs. Not sure on tounge weight
    TeamRX8
    Veteran Member
    Veteran Member

--
    24 May 2011 01:46 AM
    try a Panamera instead :p

ps: I hate you, lol
    jzr
    Veteran Member
    Veteran Member

--
    24 May 2011 02:49 AM
    Radomin towed a big enclosed trailer with one from Florida to Nats last year. I hear mileage wasn't so good, but everything else was fine...until he almost wrecked it upon entering the paddock, from the OPR people's shoes had drug onto the path.

Luv ya Rad ;-)
    JBrettHowell

--
    24 May 2011 10:55 AM

Towed with a Cayenne S for a couple years, and it was great. The Porsche trailer harness ties into the trucks systems and you get notifications about trailer light status and such through the truck's display (only source I could find for the harness and hitch was the stealership, so bring your own KY). The one downside I found was the truck does not handle LED trailer lights well...not enough resistance for the truck to recognize that the lights are not burnt out?

The self-leveling suspension was awesome, and my little rig behind the truck was no issue at all (FSP Civic on a light, single-axle open trailer).

Only new factor for you is the turbo - more power will not be anything but a plus. Not sure if there is anything else on which you need to keep an eye.

BigEnos