Sunoco 468x60 Banner
PrevPrev Go to previous topic
NextNext Go to next topic
Last Post 28 Mar 2012 02:36 PM by  caj04
2007 Civic Si Competitive in Street Modified?
 5 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
caj04

--
28 Mar 2012 12:29 PM

So I decided to make a new post concerning whether my 2007 Civic Si would be competitive in street modified if prepared correctly. I wouldn't really know because I've never autocrossed nationally and I'm fairly new to autocross. My car is currently in G Stock with a cat back exhaust, drop in filter, Dunlop direzza's, and soon to be rear sway bar. Any input would be appreciated, thanks!

GTB/ZR-1
    Basic Member
    Basic Member

--
    28 Mar 2012 01:21 PM
    Uh... No...

Maybe in Street Mod Front, if modded properly & driven very well. That's just it--whatever car in whatever class (if reasonably-well prepared), if driven very well, will have good chances.

Just concentrate on getting seat time--A LOT of it ;-)
    mitchman
    Advanced Member
    Advanced Member

--
    28 Mar 2012 01:26 PM

I'm no expert, but I would guess that by adding a turbo and LOTS of other expensive modifications you could make it competitive in SMF (Street Modified FWD). You'd need very wide rims (10-inches) and fresh rubber (Hoosier 275/35/15) as well as good quality shocks ($4000) and lots of tuning with springs, sway bars, etc.... Street Modified is a very high level (high $$$) class nationally. Locally, you wouldn't need this high of a prep level. Of course that depends on who your competition is locally. :)

caj04

--
    28 Mar 2012 02:28 PM

That was my intention, to build it for SMF. I just realized, I think I posted this in the wrong section of the forum though. I got out of karting and I can't wait to get back in racing, in at least some type of it so plan to get some good seat time!

lowside67
    Basic Member
    Basic Member

--
    28 Mar 2012 02:34 PM
    mitchman wrote: