121 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Page 2 of 7 << < 12345 > >>
Author Messages
dwx

--
02 Feb 2013 03:33 PM
Don't some of the mods on the MS3 cause the boost to increase as a result? I thought I had read something about 2-3 PSI increases based on some bolt-on changes. Not that the MS3 is the only car which this happens with, the WRX/STi also can be "influenced" to boost spike based on exhaust changes.
murph1379
Advanced Member
Advanced Member

--
03 Feb 2013 03:38 PM
I'm sure the boost will go up with increased exhaust flow, but is more power to the front wheels really what the MS3 needs? Seems to me it already has 100hp or so more than it can really handle.
Silverspeed3

--
04 Feb 2013 12:51 AM

Agreed, we don't "NEED" more power, but if it's there for the taking.....

I have yet to have my car tuned, but my guess is there will be alterations to the fuel tables in the tune when I do. That said, and I am a noob to tuning, am I modifying the "fuel system"? As per the rules, fuel pressure regulators are legal. This may be a stretch, but with direct injection, my cam driven fuel pump IS my pressure regulator. I'd like to avoid upgrading my pump just because of the expense alone, but the way I read the rules, I think I have a legitimate argument that if swapping regulators is legal (and therefore allowing higher pressures at the injectors) I'm good with the upgrade. Now that I write this, I'm thinking this is a whole different thread I should be starting.... But I can't stop myself.

"The engine management system parameters and operation may be modified only via the methods listed below. These allowances also apply to forced induction cars, except that no changes to standard boost levels, intercoolers, or boost controls are permitted."

"Fuel pressure regulators may be replaced in lieu of electronic alterations to the fuel system. It is not permitted to electronically modify the fuel system AND replace a fuel pressure regulator."

justint5387