7 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
Fastie

--
13 Feb 2013 12:33 AM

Question:

Anyone have experience with the Uhaul trailers and would you recommend or is there another option I could consider to rent a trailer for a weekend of Rallycross - I will be towing with a 1/2 ton truck and towing a Subaru Impreza on the tralier.

Details:

Towed a boat for years so I do have some trailer experience, but I am a rookie at trailing cars and need some suggestions and help. We are planning on trying a few Rallycross events and wanted to tap the knowledge of those who have trailered their cars to SCCA events. If we enjoy the events, I will be buying a trailer at some point, but thought renting maybe a good option for now. We could drive the Subaru there and take the truck for all the equipment, but my son may or may not have his drivers license by then and just feel more comfortable if we take our truck and tow the Subaru. We will need to change tires and all that and prefer to do work at home and prep before the event instead of in the mud, etc. at the event would be best. Plus cost of trailer for weekend is only $160 so not too bad.

Would you recommend I use additional tow straps, and any suggestions for a rookie is appreciated.

Davidss
    Basic Member
    Basic Member

--
    13 Feb 2013 02:55 AM
    Uhaul trailers work fine. If the car you are trailering is stock ride height then you shouldn't have any issues loading or using the included straps. I would allot extra time picking up the trailer as many uhaul stores are really slow doing all the paperwork.

Also take a look at the store hours, if you time it right you can get an extra half day for free. For example say they are open 8am-8pm Monday-Saturday, then 8am-6pm on Sunday. If you pick up the trailer after 6pm on Saturday you will have until 7:59am Monday to return it for the price of a single day.
    vreihen
    Basic Member
    Basic Member

--
    15 Feb 2013 07:11 AM