19 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
Rex247

--
23 Feb 2013 03:35 PM

Hi SCCAForum members,

I'm a beginner looking to start solo racing. I own a 2008 Nissan 350Z Enthusiast Coupe with 6 speed transmission, which I bought in June completely stock. Since I got a raise at work, I figured I could start spending money on my car to get into racing or to buy a different car for the same purpose. I really don't know where to start, should I start out in C stock and just focus on learning to drive and tires. Should I start in BSP because I can gradually mod my car? Or should I be looking into a car other than the Nissan 350z that can specialize in solo racing? stock, SP or other class? Thank you for your help.

-Rex

mitchman
    Advanced Member
    Advanced Member

--
    23 Feb 2013 04:01 PM
    I'd recommend C-Stock. There's a driver in our region that drives a 350Z and does very well with it. I would buy an extra set of rims and better tires and then spend a few seasons autocrossing the car. Then make a decision as to which direction you want to go. (just my $0.02)
    cmt52663
    Basic Member
    Basic Member

--
    23 Feb 2013 05:37 PM
    +1

The mantra is seat time. Find an Evo school, and link up with the motorsports community in your area.

I've been competing on an amateur basis off and on for a very long time - starting in '77 - on four wheels and on two. I'm a good driver, and a good rider, and I was both when I started with New England Region in 2001.

Like everyone else that can say that, I expected to be fast on an autocross course in my first year - not 6 seconds off the pace on a 60 second course. Like most folks that encounter that initial shock, I expected to close the gap in the 10 events that year.

Like most folks, I didn't.