Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Page 2 of 3 << < 123 > >>
Author Messages
madarash

--
07 Mar 2013 03:22 PM
SMSupercoupe wrote:
I'm an ESP driver (or I will be as soon as I fix my Camaro). I have a fairly well-prepped car: well prepped enough that I know that the driver is holding the car back and not vice versa. It's emissions legal (in my county, anyway), I drive it to events with the tires and tools in the car, and I get 25 mpg doing it. For the most part, I'm pretty happy with the SP rule set.

I'd rather not see it get merged with ST or SM in any kind of way that would destroy such a fun class to run in and instantly make all the pony cars uncompetitive. I'm not sure how pony cars could ever compete with the likes of M3s, Evos, and STIs currently in STU and SM. I also don't want to go to CP with a car that's grossly overweight to keep it street legal, or a non-street legal car that requires me to buy a truck and trailer.

ESP in particular fulfills a very nice niche between stock and prepared classes. SSP, CSP, and FSP also seem to be very healthy from the tours I've been to. I don't want to kill anyone's class, but if the day comes when one particular SP class is just dead, killing it alone would be better than eliminating all of SP. Just as was done with eliminating BP rather than all prepared classes. With that said, I guess if I end up as the last guy in ESP, I'll turn off the lights.

I agree, I think the reason ESP's numbers are better than all the other SP classes is we have nowhere else to go. We would get killed in SM by the EVO's and in ST were to heavy and wide to compete on tiny ass little tires.

ratt_finkel
Veteran Member
Veteran Member

--
07 Mar 2013 03:41 PM
cbramey wrote:

SP rules have only a few flaws: R compound tires instead of streets; unlimited mini clutches; stock long blocks; and the propensity to class tiny or featherweight cars with big or heavy ones that seems to cross all the SCCA classes.