F-mod: how much pain?
 5 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
JCN

--
20 Aug 2013 01:22 PM

Hi guys and gals, can anyone give me some perspective on how much pain I'd be in for running F-mod?  Weather, dirt, heat and vibration, I get.  But how much pain in breakage, rebuilding and risk of out of town failures?

I've been hanging out in Stock classes due to ease of prep and reliability of vehicles, but with all the stock-street shake up, I was thinking of F-mod.  Assuming that the car is prepped already and I'm a mid-pack driver that isn't chasing every last tenth (i.e. I wouldn't adjust carb jetting and the like for each temperature).  Would this be something that I would be rebuilding on site between days or just a few times per year?

I went for SCCA Club Racing over ChumpCar because I couldn't stand going to events and breaking at them.  I'm wondering if I'm in for too much pain in trying F-mod in the future.  And note: I'm excluding Formula Vee from this discussion....

Any and all opinions welcome!  Thanks!

gshumaker

--
    20 Aug 2013 02:36 PM

Hi,

If it is a fairly sorted and well maintained car, I would say you it isn't that much.  Unfortunately, I am a bad example because I am missing driving FM at nationals due to car issues.  But I ran over a year (probably a good 16 or 18 events) with a co-driver without missing a single run due to issues.  We just ran into some things due to the design of the car and our need to go to shorter gearing, convert to chain drive, etc and then some fuel delivery issues this past weekend... but other than that, the car has ran flawlessly.

Main things are to probably clean the carbs once in a while.  The clutches need cleaned more often probably.  We have been bad about our maintenance on the clutches, but to be honest, you can tear them down, clean them, and re-lubricate them in an hour.  And I'd say maybe do this every 4th event or so and before big events.