PrevPrev Go to previous topic
NextNext Go to next topic
Last Post 29 May 2014 05:55 PM by  Brigdh
Novice Driver looking for Clarification on Strut Bar Rules and Definitions before finishing car build
 6 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
MK1GTIdriver

--
12 Mar 2014 04:05 AM

Hi everyone,

I am a novice autocrosser preparing my 1984 VW Rabbit GTI to race in the STC class for the first time this season and I am hoping to get some clarification for the SCCA STC class rules for lower suspension braces before I chose one to mount on my car.  In talking to multiple SCCA racers I have been told “If it doesn’t clearly state that you can’t, go for it!” but I am unsure at this point if the lower suspension brace I want to use is legal and I could use some clarification.  So I have copied the relevant sections from the 2014 rule book and provided examples of pictures of the modification that I wish to do.  I would greatly appreciate it if someone could look over what I have presented and give me some clarification on what would be a legal modification.

So here it goes. 

To start with, Page 68 of the 2014 Rule Book “Strut Bar” Definition states:

12.18 STRUT BAR

A transverse member connecting the upper or lower suspension mounting points at the front or rear of the car.   Strut bars may be mounted only transversely across the car from upper left to upper right suspension mounting point and from lower left to lower right suspension mounting point. A two-point strut bar fastens only at the left and right suspension pointing points. A triangulated strut bar has a third area of attachment at the chassis (e.g., at the firewall/bulkhead). All connections to the vehicle must be bolted. No connection point to the chassis can be welded.

And page 80 of the 2014 Rule Book rules for Street Touring Classes says the following about Strut Bars and Sub Frame Connectors: