C7 Z51 with or w/o MRC?
 9 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
nathanprovo

--
26 Apr 2014 01:27 PM

I have a 2014 Corvette Z51 on order w/o MRC (magnetic ride control), I have a few days to change the order, so I wanted to get any thoughts on how well these shocks/technology might perform when compared to aftermarket adjustables.

I have been running a C5Z06 with koni singles for the past 10+ years on r-comps.  I will likely be running the C7 in Super Street.

cashmo
    Advanced Member
    Advanced Member

--
    26 Apr 2014 11:45 PM
    I'm afraid there aren't many people who've run both to know. However, a Chevrolet calibration engineer I talked to thought that an aftermarket adjustable would be preferred for Autocross.
    lost won

--
    30 Apr 2014 01:13 PM

Depends on your requirements, Nathan.  For street use, the MRC sounds like the best compromise.  After all, Chevy spent a lot of money and research to make it so.  For autocross, with it's special needs for a lot of rapid transitions, a quality aftermarket adjustable shock with custom tuning for the C7 is probably the way to go.  Doubt if autocross was high on the list for calibrating the MRC in any mode.  Would love to see someone respected in the aftermarket shock industry to do a well documented comparison. 

One parallel to notice is the selection of a purpose built and tuned shock for the new Z-28, versus an MRC type system

Another interesting development is the announcement of an MRC option on the 2015 Impala SS...

Daily drivers used for autocross are always a difficult compromise.  Comfort versus control.  Choose your poison....

Good luck!

TedDBere
    Veteran Member
    Veteran Member

--
    21 Jun 2014 08:10 AM