New Hankook RS-3 in 195/50-15 in STC/STS
 11 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
brentglad

--
16 Jun 2014 12:23 AM

I'm curious if anyone has done any testing of the new Hankook compared to the R1R in the new 195/50??  I ran the 225 a couple years ago on 8's when I ran the Civic in STX and wasnt too keen on them as I was a single driver and it was impossible to get heat in them, but with the new "softer" compound, and smaller size I think they may be a viable replacement for next year with the 200TW coming if Toyo doesnt re class the R1R.  Thoughts??

brentglad

--
    17 Jun 2014 04:37 PM
    Really? No one has been thinking about next season?
    SpeedingBolt

--
    18 Jun 2014 02:13 PM
    I drove an ES NB miata on 15x6 wheels with the RS-3 and couldn't really find anything that I could complain about and they seemed to grip pretty well and would assume that like the 225 they will do even better when they get stretched more.  I haven't driven on them in cooler temps but as expected they managed the heat from two drivers on an 80 degree day well but the owner did spray them for are last two or three runs out of 6 total.  I felt that they were much better than the 205 rivals that i had on 6ULs for my STS NA miata.  other than that I haven't had any other experiences with the other 195/50/15 tires but did notice the RE-11A is 2lbs heavier but they have more tread depth when I was looking at them on tirerack.
    bstock05

--
    10 Jul 2014 04:26 AM
    I’m not sure why everyone wants to compare it to the R1R, unless it gets a new 200tw rating then it is irrelevant. The bigger question should be what legal tire or size is better. It may be a good data point to compare it to the R1R. There’s no reason to worry about the R1R because no one can use it and we are on the same playing field with whatever tire is allowed.
    gary p
    Veteran Member
    Veteran Member

--
    10 Jul 2014 08:44 AM
    [EDIT] Never Mind [/EDIT]