4 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
Capitalistix

--
16 Dec 2014 04:42 PM

Hi there,

I apologize in advance if this isnt the correct subforum or if I need a first post elsewhere (wouldnt be the first time Ive done so on a forum)

Im brand new to the SCCA, and have been incredibly interested in both autoX and club racing. I would like to begin racing sometime this coming year in events but Im not sure what type of car/events to start in. Im no stranger to cars and would like to be competitive fairly quickly. I realize one must begin as a novice and move up from there with skill level steadily increasing, but Im not interested in certain classes (spec miata etc.) What I would ideally like to do is race in the Touring classes as soon as I can. I plan on attending a racing school and then purchasing the appropriate car. I would like to race C6/C7s if possible, but I have no idea where to start/what types of C6/7s are legal in which classes (Z06s, ZR1s) etc. I have downloaded the GCR and looked it over but its a bit confusing to me as I simply cant find a good section where eligible car makes/models are plainly listed for all the classes. Perhaps if someone had a massive and specific chart It would help a beginner lol. I like the idea that in autoX you can for the most part run your street car. I would like to invest in a car that will be somewhat competitive in a club racing class, I can autoX as well, and drive it home (if they even exist). I have seen pictures online of lightly modified C6 Grandsports and normal C6s with what look to be roll cages, racing in touring classes and they still appear stock enough to drive home on the street, thats what I have in mind.