KT100 or Briggs World Formula
 1 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
dpenn1

--
06 Nov 2015 10:39 AM
    I'm new to autocross but have fixed up an older kart for my son to compete in the FJB class. He raced in two events in 2015 and did OK. He certainly has some improvement to do with driving skills but at the same time I feel his Kart isn't competitive. The rules allow clone engines in his class so we installed a Harbor Freight Predator engine. What I didn't realize at the time is the power difference from on engine to the other in his class. The rules don't allow any modifications other than removing the governor. His engine is probably 7 HP with the governor removed while some of the other engines are 12 to 15 HP. We will be building a new Kart (probably fixing up another used one) over the winter and what I'm trying to resolve is what engine use. I have been told by one person the top engine is the Briggs World Formula (12 to 15 HP) but have read a lot saying the Yamaha KT100 is in the same power range. If anyone has experience with the two engines I would like to hear the pros and cons with regards to autocross. I don't mind a 2 stroke, I grew up racing motocross and have a 125 shifter kart now. I like the simplicity of the 2 stroke but If the KT100 has a measurable disadvantage to the World Formula then I would probably go with the World Formula. One nice thing about the KT100 is they are readily available used, Karts with a world formula don't seem that easy to find and are about twice the price.
    Scoob
    Basic Member
    Basic Member

--
    19 Nov 2015 01:03 PM