Helmets - Splain it to me like I'm 9
 1 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
tdeutsch

--
12 Apr 2016 12:04 PM
    Newbie here. Novice to autocross - 1 event at end of last season. Had a blast!
    Until I find my autocross car of choice (debating internally among a Triumph GT6, Miata, Fiero or MR2) I am using my daily driver 2013 Toyota TC with a spare set of wheels. (I just can't admit I bought a Scion, for some reason - maybe it's because I'm not 19?)
    Anyhoo ... If I am reading the rules correctly, I can get an open face or full face Snell 2010 (either SA or M) helmet and that should last me until 2020 at least (or at most?)?
    If I do a PDX event at MidOhio, would any of those helmets still be fine or would it have to be SA at that point and/or closed face? I've been to the rules pages - they have left me confused. Looking for relatively, casually correct, real-world answers - not engineer specifications. This brain does not work that way.
    47CP
    Veteran Member
    Veteran Member

--
    12 Apr 2016 02:54 PM

Helmets meeting the following standards must be worn while on course:
    All helmets meeting the latest or two immediately preceding Snell Foundation
    standards (SA2015, SA2010, SAH2010, SA2005, SA2000, M2015, M2010,
    M2005, M2000, K2015, K2010, K2005, K98); SFI standards 31.1, 41.1, 31.1A,
    31.2A, 41.1A, 41.2A; ECE R22.05; FIA standards 8859-2015, 8860-2010, 8860-
    2004; or British spec BS6658-85 type A are acceptable.
    Full face or modular helmets shall be worn while competing in an open-wheel
    car, formula car, or kart. Face shield, goggles, or similar face protection (conventional
    eyeglasses are not sufficient) shall be worn while competing in any
    other vehicle with less than the standard-size windshield.
    Formula Junior drivers must use helmets meeting the above, SFI 24.1 (Youth
    Helmets), Snell CMR2007 (Children’s Motorsports Restricted), or Snell