Vorshlag 468x60 Banner
PrevPrev Go to previous topic
NextNext Go to next topic
Last Post 15 Sep 2017 04:27 PM by  fyrballmt
Classing options for a purpose built 2000 S10 V8.
 5 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
fyrballmt
Basic Member
Basic Member

--
14 Sep 2017 01:33 PM
    Hello, been a long time since I have posted. Started racing solo in SM with a twin turbo AWD Dodge Stealth later moved into CP with a 3rd generation Camaro. Been out of autocross for the past 7 years. Would prefer to build for prepared but can't find a class that allows a V8 S10. CP would only allow a V6 in a S10. I am wondering if XP would be an option? I am pretty sure it would be allowed in EM. Doubt I could ever make weight but considering I am only an average driver I guess class really does not matter. Other options I saw are SM but I am planning more suspension mods then SM allows or CAMC which looks very interesting And other then 200 tw street tires I really like the minimalistic rules, would really like to run slicks though, locally I am sure I could get away with running in XP or CP as the planned build would be built around those rules. Nothing in XP about trucks though.
    Thank you for any input, I appreciate it, Ray
    47CP
    Veteran Member
    Veteran Member

--
    14 Sep 2017 06:59 PM

Appendix A allows you to run a V8 in a car(truck) that started with a V6, or vice versa, as long as the engine is still GM Family.  Page 183 of the current book/PDF

DaveW

fyrballmt
    Basic Member
    Basic Member

--
    14 Sep 2017 07:43 PM
    But page 185 specifically list S10(V6) leading me to believe a V8 S10 is not legal in CP. I have not really scoured the rules but I know trucks are running in EM. Not sure about XP though. Should just bite the bullet and build a fun fast Street truck and run CAMC. My driving or vehicle choice won't be competitive in any class anyway and I like the that the rules would allow me to build it the way I see fit.