Tire Choices for SM
 6 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
Z31Boss

--
21 Feb 2018 04:19 PM

Hey guys new member from the Milwaukee area!

Anyway, I will be running in the SM class this year. I realize that the go to tire is the A7. However, I would like something I can drive to and from the track without changing tires. I ran potenza RE-71Rs last year and loved them, but this year I've been looking at a few 100tw tires. Does anyone have experience with the Federal FZ-201 with autocross? I haven't really found much in regards to this tire and autox, also what kind of life do people see from a 100tw tire?

Thanks in advance!

twistedwankel

--
    21 Feb 2018 06:31 PM
    I haven't had any luck finding Federals in sizes to fit my wheels. 10.5"x18". Also not a lot of suppliers in any style. I hear they are a great tire for the money but good luck finding what you want.

However I've been running the Toyo R888R's now for about 7 months in FL on the street and 55 laps at airport concrete autocrosses. They are so far slightly outlasting my RE-71's I had on stock wheels. I expect to easily get over 100runs on them and probably 2500 road miles? I never take them off the car so they've seen highway use and a lot around town. I'm retired. A little noisy on a C5 with no insulation but now that they are down to 4/32" they are excellent all around sticky tire. They hook up well in cool temps too. Decent in the rain but I avoid puddles at speed like most treaded race tires. I cannot fault these tires. I'm the only guy out of 7 who's driving my car to the track and normally finish 3 or 4th in a stock car against various full race cars on Hoosiers. When it rains I kill them by 4 seconds.
    Z31Boss

--
    21 Feb 2018 09:12 PM
    This is awesome to hear, I know it's currently hard to find the federal's right now, but I was talking to a dealer who had a shipment of them coming over this week or early next. I'm also only looking for a 255 :P