Last Post 02 Sep 2018 03:21 PM by  J.Bass
Help me straighten out my brain! CRX wheel/tire advise
 2 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages

--
01 Sep 2018 07:57 PM

My brain is officially fried.  I'm new to the SCCA and Auto-X.  My first event was super fun!  But my all season tires are clearly a weak link.  I am currently running SMF in a Honda CRX due to my engine swap.  I've been eyeballs deep in the rule book ever since.

Things I am considering..  

I'd like to move to STS as I feel the car would be more competitive there.  I'd have to swap my motor back to stock.

or..  I could stay in SMF and go for the gusto with a supercharger and throw my wallet at it.  (which would end up empty, I'm not loaded.)

But right now..  I'm looking at wheels and tires.  I currently run a ~10 pound 6.5" wheel with all season tires.  The clear move (to me) staying in SMF would be to get some crazy 15x9 wheels wrapped in hoosier A7 tires.  I'd have to cut my fenders.

But if I switch to STS next year, I would be wiser to buy a 7.5" wheel and Re-71Rs now.  I don't want to drop all kinds of $ on wheels and tires to let them collect dust next year.

Assuming I stick with the STS plan, and a 7.5" wheel, would I be better off with a 195/50-15 or a 205/50-15?  Am I being too picky and splitting hairs here?  Does that extra 10mm amount to any time at all on the course?

I also found a 7" wheel that is 2 pounds lighter per corner.  I assume +2 pounds of unsprung weight is worth the extra 1/2" wheel width.  Or am I crazy?

Finally..  going for ballpark guesses here..   Lets call it a 60 second course.  What would be the time difference between say a 245/40-15 hoosier A7 and a 205/50-15 Re-71R?

--
    02 Sep 2018 02:34 PM