I know its not macho but ....
 13 Replies
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
Trys_Hard

--
18 Jan 2001 07:02 PM
    I autox in an automatic trans car. I am new to this sport and even though it was my first time ever autocrossing except for the day before in practice I was able to finish within 6.5 sec of my class leader in ES. And that was with running out of gas on my best lap. I foolishly thought that if I only had a few gallons of gas it would make me faster. I forgot how those sweepers can take all your gas to one side of the tank.
    But back to my point. I understand that the preffered trans is a manual. Sorry but I can't afford two cars at this time. No place to put a second one. SCCAForums Image
    But I feel that if I can learn to develope a different technique of driving that I can compete and even maybe sometimes win. SCCAForums Image
    Someone out there must be able to help me with a few tips, I am very impatient, probably why I like to drive fast. I've read Henry Watts book, I joined the SCCA, No Buck Car Club in SoCal, gotten a points card, had experience drivers drive with me and drive my car. Only .2 sec faster than I was, he wasn't used to the AT. Any help would be appreciated! SCCAForums Image SCCAForums Image SCCAForums Image

------------------
    [list]

*Art Rinner
    *95 Eagle Talon ESI
    *#823 ES

[/list]
    NBM LS1 M6

--
    18 Jan 2001 07:36 PM
    [QUOTE]Originally posted by Trys_Hard:
    [b]I autox in an automatic trans car. I am new to this sport and even though it was my first time ever autocrossing except for the day before in practice I was able to finish within 6.5 sec of my class leader in ES. And that was with running out of gas on my best lap. I foolishly thought that if I only had a few gallons of gas it would make me faster. [/b]

The amount of gasoline in the tank is a key issue. The amount of oil in the crankcase is another key issue.